Dust Collector

nixit

Hi. I am a noob. I love Mr Whisperers stuff. I watch his podcasts religiously

and repeatedly. As an Aerospace Engineer, I thought it'd be fun to over think things.

So, I'm seeking comments on this:

I chose the wood craft trash can design, as it was the simplest by far.

http://www.woodcraft.com/Articles/Articles.aspx?ArticleId=408 (used with out permission)

So far, I've spent 29.99 on a 32 Gallon Trash Can. I plan to mount it above

the blower motor on a shelf. That way, I'm using as little footprint as possible

in my little two car garage (that still holds two cars).

For my cubic feet per minute (CF/M) variable, I used 500CF/M based on Bill Pentz data.

I chose 500CF/M, because that's worst case (hopefully). (used with out permission)

http://billpentz.com/woodworking/cyclone/DCBasics.cfm

So I entered in a few models into Catia and generated some fluid dynamics to determine

the best port setup...

First up, is based completely on the WoodCraft design. I like how it tumbles out

and water falls all the way down the walls, before being sucked into the vacuum.

CS-Collage.jpg

Second on deck, is based on the woodcraft design, but I added a 90* elbow. Tons of swirl.

The longer the dust/dirt/chafe is in the can, the better the chance I have that it will

drop out of the airflow and settle in the bottom. What I do notice about this one that

I do not like is the teal blue lines that cross over and around the top... Straight from

the inlet, right into the outlet. Not idea... BUT, it sure has lots of cyclonic action

going on otherwise. Maybe a diverter can assist me. More modeling and analysis may

be needed.

CS2-Collage.jpg

So what would happen if I have one port pointed one way, and just a straight pipe about

270 degrees out around the can... I'm not sure what to thing of this one. Lots of tumble.

And Generally just a mess. Is this a GOOD thing? I couldn't find many short/direct