Large Double Pedastal Extension Dining Table

simeond

Okay - so I'm seeking out as much help as I can get with this one. I'm relatively new to professional furniture (I've been a hobbiest for years). Its my most ambitious project and I'm overthinking everything! Here's a sketchup model of the table:

post-4989-0-96171700-1316315836_thumb.jp

The table is 48"x84" closed and 48"x120" fully open.

The top is a veneer of quarter sawn figured ribbon mahogany (african) with a border of 1/4" Peruvian Walnut, 1.5" Crotch Mahogany, and then 1/4" Peruvian walnut again. It will be on a 1" MDF substrate (with the border 2" solid Peruvian Walnut with the Crotch mahog inlayed into it). Here's the border:

post-4989-0-13290800-1316316521_thumb.jp

The Pedastals are solid Peruvian Walnut. The pedastals:

post-4989-0-90879600-1316316509_thumb.jp

Sooooo, here's my questions:

1) The curved legs. I am planning on laminating 1/8" strips of the walnut around a form for the legs. I thought this would be superior in strength to jointing up enough boards of the walnut to just cut the curved legs out (leaving vertical seams in the curved leg). Any other thoughts?

2) The pedastals are connected at the top by stretchers, but there is no lower trestle. Should there be? The pedastals are stationary, just the top expands.

Suggestions on these questions or any other issues that are apparent from the model would be helpful!

Thanks!

It's hard to tell dimensions from your sketch, but the pedastals look a little small for the top. I have a double pedastal DR table (factory made) that is 46x72 when closed. The legs at the bottoms of the pedastals form a 27 inch square. If the base is too small, the table could tip if someone leans on it too hard. This could occur if someone uses the edge to help himself in standing up.