New Wood Scrapper

banzai975

Hello All,

I am just getting into some wood working fun. My first plan is to build a nice rocking horse for our new daughter. I plan on trying my hand at other book shelves and small tables. My question is, where to start with tools? So far I am a simple guy with a cordless drill and a circular saw. Where should I go from here? My first thought is to get a jigsaw. Currently I am thinking about a nice Bosch. Should I get a cheaper jigsaw and save my limited funds for another tool? Should I get a router or another tool before a jigsaw? Any other great advice for a new wood scrapper?

-Paul

First, welcome! Great name, btw...

For that rocking horse, a jigsaw is perfect. Get a decent one as you'll use it for many things. The Bosch is very good. A jigsaw is great for breaking down rough wood and making curves. You'll need that for the rocking horse and if you want the small tables to have more interest, use the jigsaw there, too.

You'll likely want a random-orbit sander to go with it. Specifically for the rougher edges the jigsaw can leave plus, for the rocking horse, rounding the edges. Always useful.

Welcome to the WT World! We've been waiting on you! :) I agree with Paul on the jigsaw and I have 2 random orbit sanders that work great. Both are the 5" - a Dewalt for about $79 from the Depot and a reddish colored Black and Decker from Wal Mart for about 79 cents....can't tell a difference in performance

i just bought a lathe and i love it so far.............go lathe. actuly if you have the space i would buy for first big tool a band saw if you get a series of blades you can use it as a scroll/jig saw, table saw, make your own lumber. my favorite wood worker james krenov his first shop he started out with just a band saw.