Edge grain cutting board

susieq4131

It maybe too late to save face, but my first cutting board was an edge grain cutting board. Not a flat grain cutting board as I originally posted. Ok, I'm still learning the woodworking lingo. I can certainly see how a flat grain glue up design would warp out of shape. But thinking the edge grain design should hold up much better. The edge grain glue up method is also one of two methods I use for gluing up bowls.

Sorry about the confusion.

SQ

post-1522-048301500 1284308328_thumb.jpg

Nothing wrong with edge grain cutting boards. A little rougher on knives but still attractive and easier to make.

Thank you! I realize it's not the Cadillac of the cutting boards like an end grain design. This was fun and easy to make. I plan to make a few more of these and then try an end grain board. :)

SQ

Thank you! I realize it's not the Cadillac of the cutting boards like an end grain design. This was fun and easy to make. I plan to make a few more of these and then try an end grain board. :)

SQ

Nice cutting board Susie!

This doesn't have anything to do with your cutiing board but.....

... did you see this? I thought that I would try and make one too. I bet you could come up with some really nice ones.

http://scrollsawworkshop.blogspot.com/

Scroll down a bit to where the daily blog starts. You will see a mug. I thought that you might like this, maybe not the contest, but the mug idea.

SQ

Edge grain can be just as beautiful as end grain and sometimes more difficult to make. Here's an edge grain I just I just finished a few days ago.

post-206-055897000 1284331223_thumb.jpg

Nice cutting board Susie!

This doesn't have anything to do with your cutiing board but.....

... did you see this? I thought that I would try and make one too. I bet you could come up with some really nice ones.

http://scrollsawworkshop.blogspot.com/