Help with Steam Bending

I'm new to this forum and am excited to post my first question. I'm trying to steam Mahogany that is 18" long by 4.5" wide. It is 3/4" thick. I'm putting a 17" radius on it and am having trouble steam bending. I know this is a hard wood to steam, but am trying it anyway to learn and attempt. Is this a lost cause? I can't get it to bend much. I've left it steaming for 2.5 hours at the most. Has anyone successfully bent Mahogany? Any tips? Thanks!

Robert

I have never done bending before but from all the things I have read it seems like 1/4 is about the thickness people generally use I am not sure how well 3/4 would work but I know of all the articles I have read they have never used wood that thick but as I say I have never done it so I could be wrong but that may be your issue.

Robert,

Do you know if the wood is kiln or air dried. From everything I've read, kiln dried wood is out for steam bending because the wood changes in the drying process. Air dried wood will still allow steam penetration. Your problem might be with kiln dried wood.

It's been a long time since I've read about steam bending, but bending 3/4" thick material to a 17" radius should not be a problem.

I don't know where you can get air dried mahogany (they might have to kiln dry as part of the import process). You might be able to get these folks to work up some mahogany:

http://www.flutedbeams.com/home.html

Good luck,

Doug

Robert, I’m guessing that you’re not going to be able to bend your mahogany successfully, but that comment may be a challenge or maybe an encouragement to proceed with your experiments. Please understand the following is from my researching the subject on the web and not personal experience.