Beginner- hardwood headboard

I am thinking about building a basic solid wood headboard to go with my simple bed frame. I would readily buy this but for some reason can't find what I'm looking for so want to see if I can make it myself. I'm a total beginner at this, so I want to run this by you experienced folk.

Here's my plan:

1) Buy 4 pieces of 1x6x6 red oak from Lowe's or Home Depot for the headboard, sawed to about 64" wide (queen sized bed) and 2 pieces of 1x2x4 red oak for the posts

2) Lay the sawed 1x6x6 pieces next to each other to make a solid 1" thick 64" wide by 24" high board

3) Lay one 1x2x4 on each side of that board to make posts. I'm thinking I'll turn it so that they will be 2" deep, popping out 1/2" on either side of the headboard for texture

4) Drill holes and screw the posts onto the headboard, one screw on each side per piece of 1x6x6 lumbar

This will give me a solid headboard that starts at 24" high and ends at 48" high.

Does this sound about right?

If I don't want to make it myself, around how much would this run if I can find a local woodworker? Raw material prices for the lumbar listed total ~$85 from Lowe's.

Thanks.

Just to get the discussion started:

What tools do you have?

What's your budget for buying tools, clamps, glue, sandpaper, finish, etc?

Wood "moves", it expands and contracts in width, across the grain, with changes in humidity. If your design doesn't allow the wood to move, you'll get cracks, gaps, and weak joints.

Yeah, it seems like you'd probably want to join your 1x6x6 pieces together somehow. I'm just beginning in all this too, but we built a bed for our son a couple months ago. I don't have a jointer for the headboard, so it was a lot of work with a hand plane to get the rough lumber to join up close enough. It still wasn't close enough for a really good glue joint, so I used pocket screws. It's pretty solid and you can't see the joints unless you're really looking for them.