Split Tenon Dimensions

ngabriel

Hi all, I'd like to join an 7 1/4" x 3/4" piece of stock to a 2.5" x 2.5" post/stile. I'm new to this, so I'm at the mercy of Google. I've read that split tenons are essential for cases like mine and I'm asking for tips and pointers on the actual dimensioning. Specifically on the thickness and width.

Thickness:

I read that anywhere from 1/3 to 1/2 the stock's thickness is desired. Since I'll be making my tenons on the table-saw, 1/2 will work (3/8").

Width:

This is where I find information to be less consistent. One rule of thumb I've seen is that the width should never exceed 2.5". Another is the width should not exceed 5x the tenon's thickness. If following the latter, I'll go no wider than 1 7/8". The issue I have with this is that I was hoping to only split the tenon once (two tenons). Having a width of 1 7/8" seems like a big waste in potential gluing surface on a 7 1/4" board. I think I'd have to split the tenon twice instead to create 3 tenons. That would be a more work, which is fine, but is it necessary? Overkill? Plus, that seems like it wouldn't leave me with a lot of space for the shoulders (1.625"/3).

Length:

As far as the length is concerned, I pretty consistently see that it should be 1/2 of the width of the stile (so in my case 1 1/4").

So here is what I'm thinking, I'll split the tenon once such that I two tenons with the following dimensions (again on 3/4" stock):

Thickness: 3/8"

Width: 2 1/2"

Length: 1 1/4"

----------------

Side-Shoulder Width: 3/16" (3/16" + 3/8" + 3/16" = 3/4")

Top/Middle/Bottom Shoulder Width: 1" (3/4" + 2 1/2" + 3/4" + 2 1/2" + 3/4" = 7 1/4")

Anyone have any tips or rules of thumb that I should be taking into consideration?