Wood Pricing - Yikes!

tesla77

So I was perusing through thewoodwhisperer.com videos and decided I would like to try the popular cutting board project. Watched the videos and then clicked on the link to buy material for the project via bellforestproducts.com. I was shocked at the price for such a small project. $40 for a few bits of wood? Really?

I am fairly new at woodworking so please keep the flaming to a minimum. :) I am just curious if this is the norm and what alternatives I have for cutting board wood that won't break the bank.

Thanks, all!

Jeremy

Yup - really. Wood ain't cheap. Well, good wood anyways. I dont know how good their prices are, but don't forget - you might be paying for some of the convenience of online shopping and delivery.

You definitely should look around for a good local hardwood dealer and either check out their website for prices, or take a trip and check them out - see what species they have, sizes, "deals" (off cuts, etc) and see if they are helpful with a relative newbie. Some wood yards can be a little intimidating.

Wood working isn't a cheap hobby and you don't make things cheaper than you can buy them - I could go out and buy a manufactured cutting board for $10. Remember why you're doing the project - the fun and satisfaction of building something yourself just the way you want it.

and $40 for an on-line order sounds about right.

I did a Murphy bed project this year and ended up paying almost $40 per sheet of good plywood (not hardwood ply). At first I thought about using cherry or oak plywood for the project but those were $80 to $120 per full sheet - I needed 4. Over budget before I started.

Shop around, you might find it cheaper locally.