Scraps-firewood or useable?

VRuthRyan

Hi all. I am relatively new to woodworking, with just a few projects under my belt. I have a bunch of scraps left over from different projects...most are cut-off board ends, some jointed and some not. Most are too small to safely run thru a jointer or planer, but it seems too nice (and in some cases expensive) to just burn. My question is twofold- first is if I have some pieces that might be appropriate to glue up to make a turning blank but these pieces haven't been surface planed or jointed, is there a safe way to do it? In other words, if you are trueing up a piece too small for machinery, what is too small?

The second question is- what are some ideas of things I could make with small scraps? I really like making small boxes, but not sure how to proceed....

What I have specifically are leftover pieces of some local hardwoods (madrone, tan oak, some cherry, some really dense montery cypress softwood) all shorter than 10" and mixed widths and thickness.

Any suggestions would be helpful. Thanks.

Pen blanks, perhaps? You can usually create a sled or cradle that will hold onto a small piece as it goes through a table saw to become a small square section ready to become a writing implement.

Beyond that, my general rule is this: If I have to think for more than five seconds about what a small offcut could be used for, it goes in the burn pile. Quoth the Schwarz, "The most valuable commodity in woodworking is not the wood, but the time we have to work it." Life is too short to be spent looking for ways to make something useful.