Bed

I am fairly new to wood working, I got into it a month back I picked up a lathe at a yard sale for 50 bucks and started having some fun and then I discovered that there was a woodworking shop on the military base I work on with every tool you could ever need and allot of knowledgeable help who love there jobs so much they can be found in the shop on there days off. So I have done a few things like wine stoppers, a side table for my back porch I made from firewood and a few end grain cutting boards. The next project im looking at is a bed for my son. Its a full size and as he is 8 he has plenty of time to abuse and try to break it. My question is what wood should I use? Im not looking to break the bank and go cherry, if it were for my wife and I I would, but I do want to make it out of solid wood, no ply or anything like that. I was thinking along the lines of oak. The other part to this is in what dimensions? Is 4/4 stock going to take the abuse or should I go for something a bit thicker?Thanks for taking the time to help me out.

if you realy want to get into woodworking find some local mills small one man operations you can often get wood both cheaper and better selections of lumber. plus they seem to always have small end cuts and odd pieces stored in there mills that they might want to get rid of so they can open up the area for lumber they can sell. plus buy the wood that is rough cut you can plane it down yourself.

I moved the post for you.

For a piece of kid's furniture that you expect to get abused, I'd use:

• pine/fir/spruce, cause it's inexpensive and stands up to abuse. Downside is that it's a "softwood".
  • poplar, cause it's inexpensive, works really easily, and is a hardwood (but not necessarily harder than pine). Downside is that it sometimes has a greenish tint. It looks great painted, though!