Drawer cleats on a dresser

Pwalter5110

http://www.woodworkingtalk.com/f9/dresser-build-31734/

Post six on this link has a picture of what I am trying to explain.

Dwacker, I honestly don't have much more info, I am just throwing ideas around in my head. Honestly, I don't even know what a "full dust frame" is. I am new to this but I don't want to use plans. I would rather design them myself.

Preeng2, I guess the answer to your question is both. I see a lot of people who have what basically looks like squares inserted into the carcass of the dresser. Do they just use dado joints?

First, the easy answer is that the guide is simply attached to the top of the runner with glue, nails or screws. The runner can be attached in many different ways, depending on the construction and material used for your carcass. Yes you can use a dado, but if you are using solid wood construction on solid side panels, you will want to only glue the front couple of inches and attach the rear of the runner with a screw in an elongated hole so that as the side panel expands and contracts with the seasonal movement, the runner will float.

It's great that you want to make your own plans, but I would suggest that you look at some plans to get an idea of the different types of construction that are used and then you can adapt them for your project.

I generally don't use plans, but if I was making a dresser, I'd use plans. When I watched the Guild Build chest of drawers and the accompanying Charles Neil videos, I realized that there's a lot of design detail going on that isn't obvious.

You might consider getting the Guild Build chest of drawers DVDs. You could watch them, and then make up your own plans with a better idea of the issues.

http://www.woodworki...er-build-31734/

Post six on this link has a picture of what I am trying to explain.