Introduction and projects for the upcoming baby

fstmatt

Hello everyone - a quick introduction and a post about my two most recent projects:

My name is Matt, and I'm a amatuer woodworker in Albuquerque, NM. I'm blessed to have a wife that is patient enough to let me play in the shop as much as I do - after the surprise we encountered this summer (that she is pregnant) she actually encouraged to take on two big projects: a crib and a changing table.

The crib was based on the 3 in 1 crib design sold by Rockler. While I am pleased with the finished product I cannot express enough frustration with the plans. Anyone who is considering building their own crib should bypass these plans completely. Not only were they poorly written/drawn, but in some cases incorrect and misleading. Thankfully I was only working with poplar, which is relatively inexpensive, because I ruined some of my stock by blinding following their "instructions". (Not that loosing several boards is ever a good thing)

The crib is painted poplar with stained alder trim. My wife liked the look of similar looking pieces from Babys 'R Us, although I generally prefer a wood finish. There are two significant deviations from the Rockler plan. 1) the slats are joined to the rails using square mortise and tenon joints instead of circular, and 2) I added some braces where the ends bolt to the front and back. I'm really amazed that the plan called for round tenons. Having not had any children yet I am hardly an expert, but I would imagine that a year or more of a child grabbing, pullling, yanking, etc - the glue would eventually give and the slat would then rotate freely. This could be dangerous I would think, allowing appendages to become stuck. So I purchased a mortising attachement for my drill press and cut square mortises and tenons. I added the braces because after assembly, the crib wobbled significantly. Although they can't be seen in the attached photo, I have more up on my picassa at