Help with Mortises

CubsFan

So I've cut mortises before before, and always find it kind of fun. But now I'm faced with a new challenge: arts and crafts furniture. Specifically a morris chair. This one has through tenons, which I've never done before. All of the rest of my mortises I could kind of count on the shoulder of the tenon hiding any sloppiness, but now I have to be a little more careful.

I have the following at my disposal which may be helpful:

chisels

Router/Router Table

Drill Press

Mortise Mill ( By JessEm)

Also, the leg that I'm working on is 2 1/4" thick, so a decent amount of material to go through.

Which way would you cut them? Router and then chisels? Drill press and then chisels? Something I haven't thought of? Buy a mortiser?

Thanks!

How many these will you have in the chair? Do you plan on doing more A&C furniture?

If you only have a couple to do, I would do them by hand. You can do a practice board to see if you can get a good fit.

If you're not happy with the fit or if you have a ton of them to do, then look into a mortising attachment for your drill press or buy a dedicated mortiser.

(Go Sox!)

You're going to get the cleanest mortises with a drill and chisel IMO. On my mortiser (PM 719) it has a tendency to leave a VERY slight wobble from the auger bit outside of the chisel head. Not an issue if you're leaving a shoulder around the tennon, but if you're looking for a clean full (un-shouldered) tennon it may be a bit of a crap shoot with a mortiser. They are great, don't get me wrong, but this has just been my experience. If I were doing this and needed it 100% dead on, I'd hog out the material with a forsner bit and clean it up with a very sharp chisel.