New Work Table/Bench help.

eball

Hey guys,

I am new to woodworking and I am getting ready to build a work table/bench with storage. I have a very limited amount of space, time and money (usual, right!?) I have included a pic of what my over all set up goal is, a pic of the table/bench I am currently working on, and a sketchup of the same table/bench.

The table/bench was originally going to be just 3/4 ply for sides, but then i decided to beef it up a bit with 4x posts and add a spot for a vise.

The grey drawer looking thing is a metal sectional toolbox I am installing there. Also, the left side will have drawers that take up half the depth. All i have added in sketchup is the fronts so far.

I was toying with having two vises which is why you see the benchdog holes on both sides of the top. Will probably just have the one.

My main question is how to secure the top to the frame? I have a few ideas but wanted some input. The top is made of 3 layers of 3/4 MDF and a hardboard top. For the benchdog holes, I was going to replace that section of the top layer of MDF with an insert of hardwood (maple or something) , and drill the holes through all layers.

Also, feel free to add any other critiques or suggestions. Just keep in mind I have limited money and do not have a jointer or planer for milling.

Thanks.

Eric

post-4669-0-90260400-1325322966_thumb.jp

post-4669-0-73125400-1325323031_thumb.jp

TableBench.skp

One way would be to add some cleats to the uprights and then attach the top to them, either with screws from below (not my first choice), or with countersunk bolts from the top. If you didn't want the bolt heads to show, you could put them through the MDF layers only, before you added the hardboard skin.

post-685-0-59436300-1325347643_thumb.gif

Two other thoughts:

1. Think about extending the top a few inches beyond the base on either end, and maybe in the front. That will make it easier to clamp things to the edge of the benchtop.